I made my first Speltotto last weekend and it turned out to be quite spelt-acular. Spelt is an ancient grain that contains gluten but it’s a different type, which means many people who happen to be wheat intolerant find they can tolerate spelt instead.
But back to my Speltotto… just add boiling water and butter. There are three pearled spelt varieties (pearled spelt is used quite a bit in Italy, and as those Two Lovely Greedy Italians would tell you, they call it farro):
- Sundried Tomato and Chilli – delicious, with a bit of a chilli kick – I added a little greenery in the form of julienned spinach sauteed in garlic
- Pumpkin and Shallot
- Courgette and Garlic